Yoga at Brandt Fitness and Self Defense in Fort Worth

Hands on or off?

This is an interesting article the New York Times ran about physically adjusting yoga students’ poses. I am on the fence about manual adjustments…it doesn’t bother me to be adjusted in a class but I can tell some of my students don’t like it. I also know that some of my students prefer to have manual rather than verbal adjustment. I have been in classes where teachers used manual adjustments as a form of control, as in “you’re not doing it right, do it like this” which, to me, is not what yoga is about. When I touch students it’s more of a light press to help them get deeper into pigeon or maybe a temple massage during savasana. Physically twisting someone’s hips or pressing their quad deeper into a warrior pose just doesn’t seem like it would be comfortable for the student.  What do you think?

3 responses

  1. Meredith

    Sarah, that picture they have of that man and where his hands are is totally inappropriate!
    However, I have gotten some awesome adjustments before! But I have gotten some that have hurt me!
    I think lightly touching a student to cue them to go deeper is fine. So is a two finger touch to help with alignment.
    I think teachers need to be in tune with students and their bodies and capabilities. I have adjusted students that have been coming to my class for a long time and I know their capabilities, going deeper, etc.
    I know that peace comes with alignment but you don’t want to get caught up in that “this is how it’s done” mentality.
    There are some very talented teachers out there that can read the human body VERY well, Judith Lasater and Ana Forrest, to name a few. I don’t have that unique gift and I honor that. 🙂

    February 24, 2011 at 0:00

    • I like that picture because it’s funny!

      And I couldn’t have said it better! It’s a challenge to determine just how much to adjust someone physically until you know their capabilities well.

      February 24, 2011 at 0:00

  2. karate fort worth tx

    June 30, 2011 at 0:00

Leave a Reply

